How to find a Job Internationally

SHARE

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email
When looking for work, browsing job portals is usually a good starting point, and rightfully so because not only can you browse available opportunities you apply for the vacancy on the spot. Here is a list of international job search websites in the following countries:
international

If you are thinking about working in Dubai, London, New York or even Canada, here are a few tips on how to find a job internationally.

Sometimes we feel a need to change or expand on our life experience by seeking new opportunities abroad, many countries are growing and have great opportunities available. Cities in the USA, UK, broader Europe and Asia are continually growing and looking to pay top dollar for skilled individuals, and the UAE is amongst the top locations where opportunities are available in abundance.

So, clearly there are opportunities available globally, even in Africa and to help you navigate your way in finding a job internationally, here are a few universal tips to remember:

1. Research

Culture and Lifestyle – different countries have different cultures, and this can be a significant factor in deciding which country you want to work in.

Cost of Living – check the price of food, transportation, utilities, and accommodation to ensure you get paid a salary that more than compensates for your expenses.

Available Jobs – check the unemployment rate of the country and see how it will directly impact you once working there (e.g. South Africa has a high unemployment rate; however, there are many job opportunities available for highly skilled workers, and the cost of living is lower than most developed countries).

2. List of Companies

When looking for a job, it is ideal to list and search for specific companies that you would like to work for, then apply directly for open opportunities listed on their website or other platforms.

For example, search for “Engineering companies in Dubai” on google, amongst the results a map will also appear showing you different companies and where they are located. You will also see the link to their website which you can visit and check out the company in-depth, while there you can browse available vacancies.

When immigrating, I recommend working for medium to large companies because they usually offer better job security.

3. Job Search Sites

When looking for work, browsing job portals is usually a good starting point, and rightfully so because not only can you browse available opportunities you apply for the vacancy on the spot. Here is a list of international job search websites in the following countries:

Top Europe Job Search Websites

Bundesagentur für Arbeit www.arbeitsagentur.de
Council of Europe www.coe.int
Eures www.ec.europa.eu
Euro Brussels www.eurobrussels.com 
Eurojobs www.eurojobs.com
European Recruitment www.eu-recruit.com
EuropeJobsites www.europeJobsites
Glassdoor www.glassdoor.com
Graduate Land www.graduateland.com
iAgora www.iagora.com
Job Monkey www.jobmonkey.com
jobisJob www.jobisjob.com
Jobs in network www.jobsinnetwork.com
Jobsite www.jobsite.co.uk
Learn4good www.learn4good.com
Monster www.monster.com
StepStone www.stepstone.com
The Gurdian Jobs jobs.theguardian.com 
XING www.xing.com
ZipRecruiter www.ziprecruiter.com

Top UAE Job Search Websites

akhtaboot www.akhtaboot.com
AuthorityJob.com www.authorityjob.com
Bac Middle East www.bacme.com
Bayt www.bayt.com
Buzzon buzzon.khaleejtimes.com
>CareerJet Dubai www.careerjet.ae
Charterhouse www.charterhouseme.ae
>Dubai City Company www.dubaicitycompany.com
Dubizzle dubai.dubizzle.com
eFinancial Careers www.efinancialcareers-gulf.com
Emirates Ads www.emirates-ads.ae
Federal Government job portal www.federalerp.gov.ae
GN Careers www.getthat.com
Gulf Talent www.gulftalent.com
Gulfjobvacancy www.gulfjobvacancy.com
Khaleej Times www.khaleejtimes.com
Laimoon www.laimoon.com
Nadia.com www.nadia-me.com
Naukrigulf.com www.naukrigulf.com
Wejobz www.wejobz.com

Top UK Job Search Websites

Top US Job Search Websites

Company Name Website
 Ziprecruiter www.ziprecruiter.com 
AngelList angel.co 
Careerbuilder www.careerbuilder.com 
Craigslist www.craigslist.org
CrediBll www.credibll.com 
Flexjobs www.flexjobs.com
Glassdoor www.glassdoor.com 
Idealist www.idealist.org 
Jobrapido us.jobrapido.com 
Jobs2Careers www.jobs2careers.com 
Jobsra https://jobsra.com 
Ladders www.theladders.com
LinkedIn www.linkedIn.com 
Link Up www.linkup.com 
Monster www.monster.com
OPTnation www.optnation.com
Resume-Library www.resume-library.com
Robert Half www.roberthalf.com 
Simply Hired www.simplyhired.com
Snag a Job www.snagajob.com 

4. Recruitment Agencies

Recruitment agencies are an excellent source for work opportunities as they are constantly looking to fill open vacancies. Find a list of high-performing recruitment agencies in the country and city of your choice specialising in your field of expertise. Enquire about available opportunities and submit your CV.

To help you find job opportunities fast here is a list of some of the top recruitment agencies in these countries:

Top Europe Recruitment Companies

Approach People Recruitment www.approachpeople.com
Best Web Jobs www.bestadventurejobs.co.uk
Cobalt Recruitment www.cobaltrecruitment.com
Complete Security Recruitment www.completesecurityrecruitment.com
DHR International European HQ www.dhrinternational.com
DSR Global Ltd www.dsr-global.com
Europe Solutions Polska Sp. z o.o. – Recruitment Agency www.europesolutions.co.uk
European Affairs Recruitment Specialists (EARS) www.theears.eu
European Recruitment www.eu-recruit.com
European Recruitment Agency (ERA) www.recruitment-agency.eu 
Europteam Consultants Ltd. www.europteam.com
Heidrick & Struggles www.heidrick.com
HR Globally Talent www.hrglobally.com
Irs International Recruitment Services Ltd irs-services.com 
Octagon Professionals International – The Hague www.octagon.nl
Proteus Europe www.proteuseurope.com
Red Top Resources Ltd www.red-top.co.uk
Stanton Chase www.stantonchase.com
Strategic Resources European Recruitment Consultants Ltd www.strategic-resources.co.uk
Tarun kumar from india hello sir how are you www.transearch.com

Top UAE Recruitment Companies

Adecco Middle East www.adeccome.com
Alliance Recruitment Agency www.alliancerecruitmentagency.com
BAC Middle East www.bacme.com
Black and Grey HR www.black-grey.com
Departer – The German Headhunter www.departer.de/en/
Experts International Recruitment Services www.expertsrecruitment.com/
Future Tense www.futuretensehr.com
Hays UAE www.hays.ae
Horizon International Recruitment Service www.horizon.ae
Inspire Selection www.inspireselection.com
Job Nexus www.jobnexus.com
JOBSCAN Middle East www.jobscan.ae
Lobo Management Services www.lobomanagement.com
ManpowerGroup Middle East www.manpowergroup.ae
Nadia Executive Search & Selection www.nadia-me.com
NaukriNepal www.naukrinepal.com
Robert Half www.roberthalf.ae
TASC Outsourcing www.tascoutsourcing.com
UAE Recruitment services uaerecruitment.ae
Ultimate HR Solutions www.uhrs.ae/

Top UK Recruitment Companies

Adecco www.adecco.co.uk
Airswift www.airswift.com
Antal International www.antal.com 
Blue Arrow www.bluearrow.co.uk
Bond recruitment www.bondrecruitment.com
Brite Recruitment www.briterecruitment.com
Green Recruitment Company www.greenrecruitmentcompany.com
Hays www.hays.co.uk
Hays www.haysplc.com
Huntress Group www.huntress.co.uk
Hyper Recruitment Solutions www.hyperec.com
Impellam Group www.impellam.com
InterQuest Group www.interquestgroup.com
Morgan Hunt www.morganhunt.com
MRL Consulting www.mrlcg.com
Opus PSG www.opustalentsolutions.com
REED Specialist Recruitment www.reed.co.uk
ReThink Recruitment www.rethink-recruitment.com
Satigo www.satigo.com
Venturi Group www.venturi-group.com

Top US Recruitment Companies

Accent Professional Recruiting www.accentrecruit.com
American Recruiting and Consulting Group www.arcgonline.com
Boyden www.boyden.com
Bradley-Morris www.bradley-morris.com
DHR International www.dhrinternational.com
Egon Zehnder www.egonzehnder.com
Global Recruiters Network www.grncorp.com
Hays plc www.haysplc.com
Heidrick & Struggles www.heidrick.com
Kelly Services www.kellyservices.com
Korn Ferry www.kornferry.com   
Lucas Group www.lucasgroupinc.com
Manpower group www.manpower.com
MRINetwork www.mrinetwork.com
Orion Group www.oriontalent.com
Robert Half International www.roberthalf.com
Russell Reynolds Associates www.russellreynolds.com
Spencer Stuart www.spencerstuart.com
Stanton Chase International www.stantonchase.com

5. Government Relations

Check if your government does not have programmes in place for people looking to work abroad, this can fast your move.

6. Social Networks

Use social media to connect directly with recruiters or hiring managers of the organisations you would like to work for. Contact them and introduce yourself and see if there are any suitable opportunities available. Here is a great article on how to get a job in 5 days using LinkedIn.

7. Winning CV

We previously compiled a list of different countries and how they prefer their CVs to be formatted (read Article). However, Elite-CV has created a job-winning CV format which has been loved across different countries. A CV is a marketing tool to sell your skills to potential employers and the format should always prioritise the key benefits of hiring you. Have a look at international and professional CV samples.

https://elite-cv.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/exec-writing.png
Share
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on email